Keeping you posted on our big adventure into parenthood

Halloween

Last weekend we celebrated Mason’s first Halloween by dressing him up like animals (both prehistoric and current) and taking a ton of pictures. I have to admit- Kelly and I are already looking forward to Thanksgiving. Not just to see family and friends and eat lots of good food, but also because if Halloween is a precursor for cuteness then getting him around 4 other babies is gonna be ridiculous!

We brought Mason up to the office at Convio for their annual Halloween parade. There were about 40 kids, all dressed up in various costumes. Some were scary, some were funny, and some were crying. Mason, dressed as  “Snugglesaurus” as Kelly put it, actually fell asleep through most of it, so I guess he wasn’t as excited about all the candy as some of the other kids. Give it a few years and that will be all he thinks about. Honestly, I think from the age of 4-9 I had one thing on my mind… candy. If I got 50 cents I knew exactly what I was spending it on. In fact, I think the reason I learned math was just so I could make sure I wasn’t getting hosed when I bought candy. But I digress… On Saturday we went to Matt and Paige’s house for a party and Mason and I went as cows. I didn’t realize that none of the other adults would be dressing up but I would have worn the cow costume even if I had. Last year I wore that outfit while stumbling around 6th street and partying till 3am. This year we came home at 10pm and hung out with Mason. Now, I had a great time last year, but seeing the Mad Cow made this year a clear winner. Not waking up feeling like my head was stuck between monkey cymbals might have had something to do with it, but I’m giving Mason all the credit.

Some updates on the little man:

1) He’s huge! Kelly says he’s probably 17 lbs but I think it’s closer to 20. We’ll find out at his 4 month checkup. Today, he’s officially 4 months old and he’s as big as some of our friends’ 7 month olds. Maybe it’s all the whey protein and Power Bars I’ve been feeding him…

2) He is laughing more now than ever. We took this video last week of Mason laughing at his new best friend. Turns out he really likes the duck but he’ll laugh at pretty much anything I say in that voice. I realize that this is pretty cheesy, but hearing him laugh makes us realize we’ll do just about anything to make that happen for a long time to come.

3) He’s pretty close to rolling over all the way. Minor accomplishment right? Yeah- but it’s pretty cool watching your kid figure this kind of stuff out. He also is beginning to realize that his hand is actually connected to his arm and that he can control it… slightly. He has been grabbing his pacifier a lot and has almost got the hang of getting it near his mouth again. Right now it’s either heading into his eye or his nose, but at least he’s got it heading in the right vicinity.

No other big news for now. Enjoy the pics- there are some good ones!

IMG_2115

Roaaaaaaarrrrr!!!

IMG_2117

Mom and the Snugglesauras

IMG_2121

Another meeting of the minds. They are both members of the cute fuzzy family.

IMG_2123

Family time at the office

IMG_2129

Behold the cuteness!!

IMG_2155

This guy was awesome. He even had the Christian Bale growl down pat. When I grow up I want to be like him.

IMG_2168

I’m not really sure what he was doing here but he looks either half drunk or like he’s just learning how to wink.

IMG_2170

On their way back to Denver, the newlyweds Dustin and Ashley stopped by to see the new addition. If the half hour they spent with Mason is any indication, and I’m assuming it is, they’re going to make great parents. So get crackin’ you two! Mason needs a ski buddy for father and son trips! Sorry- I just want to be the first make slightly inappropriate and slightly public requests for you to make babies.

IMG_2175

Several weeks ago a package arrived from a magic shop. It had no return address and no note inside. The contents? A pacifier with fake fangs on it and a “bat ears” headpiece. A month later I got an email from my old co-worker Teresa, who is currently working in Afghanistan, asking if we got the fangs? Yup, and they’re really creepy! Thanks T- see ya soon!

IMG_2178

Clearly I will do anything for a good picture. Mason, when you’re 17 and I tell you that you can’t go out because you didn’t clean your room when I asked you to and you say you hate my stupid rules and I don’t care about you, just remember that I took this picture just to make you and your mom happy.

IMG_2185

They say happy cows are from California but this one is from Texas.

IMG_2194

Kelly called herself a “modern milk maid”. I tried to get her to dress up like the St. Paulie Girl but I really have no clue why. Maybe beer is my milk?

IMG_2207

I’m sure there’s some joke involving a cow, a glow worm, and a lion but I haven’t heard it yet.

IMG_2217

1 year old Luke is an awesome Elvis. Kid’s got some mojo.

IMG_2222

This is what happens when your kid falls on his side and gets a face full of hay. MAD COW!!

IMG_2215

All the munchkins together.

3 responses

  1. We too are counting down to the adorable munchkin factor at Thanksgiving (and seeing you two of course!). Can’t wait. Malloy thinks that Mason is her brother and requests a peep at his videos at least once a day. She also love seeing Uncle D…. ready or not, we’re comin!

    November 10, 2009 at 3:08 pm

  2. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more
    enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?

    Excellent work!

    June 26, 2013 at 1:04 am

    • Thanks for the note- I actually did the design myself, though it’s been so long I don’t really remember all the components. I know it was a mix of standard theme and a customized backdrop (that wood grain you see in the background). Keep an eye out for an update coming soon as I decided to get back to posting.

      September 30, 2013 at 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

